Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: 4 weeks post-ravitch w/ pics
longdayz
Contributing Member

[*] posted on 1-25-2012 at 07:13 PM
4 weeks post-ravitch w/ pics

Tomorrow will be 4 weeks since my surgery, I am finally off pain meds. The last week or so I had weaned off to 1 or 2 a day, and breaking them in half.

I have walked on a treadmill at 4 mph for 45 min every other day for the last 2 weeks. I am a full-time student and I have worked as a nurse 3 days.

My worst pain is in my mid-back. My doctor said my back muscles are adjusting too. My chest feels okay, but I have weird twinges when I twist, like when I reach into the back seat of my car. It feels like something is pulling or about to tear :sh: Same thing when I tried to do yoga.

I am happy. But frustrated that I can't snowboard :( We just got a ton of snow in Michigan. I can't wait to really exercise (run, lift).

My scar looks great, all healed, just a thin pink line. That's all for now.

Randy
Contibuting Member

Mood: Always Pushing Limits

[*] posted on 1-25-2012 at 10:07 PM

Happy to hear you are doing well. Post your scar, hope it heals well. Your pushing it by wanting to snow board so soon, be careful but dont be a couch potato. Find the line and walk it, just dont cross it. Better to be a little slow on getting in the grove than to jump to soon and have a mess 6 months later. Post a few pix, you will get lots of responses.

Randy

longdayz
Contributing Member

[*] posted on 1-26-2012 at 06:38 PM

Thanks, Randy, yeah it's hard to not be able to do all the things I love. But hopefully when I fully recover, I will be better than ever! I'll try to get pics up, I still need to check if Mayo took any before pics, as I did not.
devguy
Contributing Member

Mood: happy and comfortable

[*] posted on 1-26-2012 at 09:43 PM

You're on the downward slope at 4 weeks. The demon is out. Congrats

longdayz
Contributing Member

[*] posted on 1-28-2012 at 06:25 AM